Ouija Boards

ouija board

Ah, Ouija Boards also known as Spirit Boards and Talking Boards are one of those items that have gained popularity over the years.  The reason for its success stems a marketing campaign, whether intentional or unintentional, as a toy that “…provides both children and adults with hours of fun…”  Being identified as a game, you can readily find them for sale at any local toy retailer through out the United States.

As an experienced Occultist and Paranormal Researcher, I can honestly say that I refuse to use an Ouija Board no matter what you wish to call it.  For the most part, the only people I have found using them are i) children or ii) dabblers in the occult.  Don’t get me wrong or think that I’m being abrasive; I’m not.  I’m just simply stating a fact.  I truly feel heart-sick that such a dangerous tool is marketed as a game to innocent children and unsuspecting adults who don’t have a background in the paranormal or occult arts.  Personally, I think it’s wrong but, that’s me and, I will let you make up your own mind.

In general, my belief is that Ouija Boards are inherently dangerous and here’s why.  First of all, their sole purpose is to contact spirits and provide a medium for spirits to communicate with us.  In order to accomplish this, the user or users place the planchet on the board with their hands resting lightly on the planchet.  The user then asks a question and waits for a spirit to move the planchet on the Ouija Board spelling out a response one letter at a time.  In order to be successful in using this device, the user or users have to open themselves up to the spirit world.  The Ouija Board then becomes a portal or door to this spirit world.

In order to understand this concept, you have to be aware that the spirit world is home to any number of entities i.e. i) mundane helpful spirits, ii) harmful spirits, iii) trickster spirits, and iv) evil entities to name just a few.  Yes, evil does exist whether in our world or the spirit world no matter your beliefs.  By opening the door to the spirit world, you never know which entity will come out and play.  This is where the danger lies.

Before you grab an Ouija Board off the shelf to either use personally or to give as a gift to a child you need to as yourself this question.  Would I invite a total stranger to move into my home or go live with me or my family without doing a complete background check?  If your answer is “No” don’t purchase one.  If your answer is “Yes”, then, by all means make the purchase.

Personally, you will never catch me or any other Occultist and Paranormal Researcher worth his/her “salt” using one or having one of these devices stashed away in their home or business.

All in all, it boils down to personal preference and you have to decide for yourself.

© J.F. Dietz 2012

About James Franklin Dietz
James Franklin Dietz is a ULC Minister, Historian, Paranormal Investigator, Lecturer, Speaker, and Author specializing in Supernatural History, Paranormal Investigation, Ghosts, UFOs, “Crypto” Zoology, Ancient Symbols, Conspiracy Theories, Parapsychology, and Secret Societies. He is also the founder and owner of Asylum Paranormal. As a child, my babysitters were Lon Chaney, Vincent Price, and Boris Karloff who I consider to be the true “Masters of Horror”. Growing up with monsters, ghosts, and “creatures of the night” spawned a three decade long love affair with the paranormal and things that go “bump in the night”. In 2005, I began collaborating with Kasey Clark in the development of Haunted Houston Tours which opened its doors for business in 2010 offering Historical Ghost Tours in the Houston Metropolitan Area every day of the year. From its inception Haunted Houston Tours has grown into a thriving business providing its patrons a “living history” of one of the most haunted towns in Texas and has been featured in the Houston Chronicle, ABC Channel 13 News, and local Community Magazines. In my role as manager of Haunted Houston Tours, I provide mentorship for its staff and make “special appearances” as a guest Tour Guide. In 2013, Kasey Clark, owner of Haunted Houston Tours, approached me again on a new project. Immediately, we teamed and began collaborating on the development of Haunted Lafayette Tours which held its Grand Opening on October 1st offering Historical Ghost Tours in the Lafayette Metropolitan Area every day of the year. From the time Haunted Lafayette Tours opened its doors for business it was an instant media sensation and has been featured on “Good Morning Acadiana”, KATC Channel 3, and as front page news in both the morning and evening editions of The Daily Advertiser newspaper. Haunted Lafayette Tours Provides its guests with a hauntingly insightful look into the seedy underbelly of an innocent looking college town in Louisiana termed “the most haunted State in the U.S.” In my role as manager of Haunted Lafayette Tours, I provide mentorship for its staff and make “special appearances” as a guest Tour Guide. In addition to managing both companies, I am a contributing writer for Paranormal Underground Magazine on a regular basis. Currently, I reside in Lafayette, Louisiana with my wife and two dogs where I am featured as a regular Speaker at Ghost Hunters University giving lectures on “Basic”, “Intermediate”, and “Advanced” Paranormal Investigation. When I’m not speaking, lecturing, giving tours, managing my blog and writing articles, you can find me conducting active paranormal investigations gathering information for my next book.

Leave a Reply

